36 out of 40 MCAs voted out in Kitui county 

County Assembly in the Kitui County will have a large number of newcomers after voters decided to remove the majority of incumbents MCAs.

The majority of MCAs elected in 2017 were shown the door, with only four incumbents returned to the Kitui County Assembly in the hotly contested polls.

Among the 36 is County Assembly Majority leader Peter Mwikya Kilonzo who contested in Athi Ward to defend his seat on a Wiper Party. Kilonzo lost to Kieti Othothea who garnered 3000 against Kilonzo 1600 votes.

The four who managed to be re-elected are Alex Nganga of Miambani (NARC), David Masaku, Mutomo Ward (Jubilee Party), Stephen Katana of Nguutani Ward (Indepedent) and Sylvester Munyalo from Matinyani Ward (NARC).

No MCA was re- elected in Mwingi Central constituency. The constituency consist of 6 wards.

Out of the 40 elected MCAs in the just concluded general election Judith Wanza is the only elected female member of County Assembly. This means that political parties are expected to nominate more women to the county assembly of Kitui in order to achieve two third gender rule.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *