Preparation for swearing in new governor finalised

Preparations for swearing in of the Isiolo County governor-elect Hassan Abdi Guyo have been finalized and he is set to assume office on August, 25, this year.

According to Isiolo County Secretary Ahmed Galgallo, who has been chairing the governor’s Assumption of Office Committee, the preparations are complete to the finest detail.

Speaking to journalists today, Dr Galgallo said the committee will ensure there is a smooth transition and handing over procedure.

“I want to assure all people that there will be a smooth transition and handing over of power to Mr Guyo and his deputy James Lowasa,” said Dr Galgallo.

Mr Guyo who is the MCA for Matopeni Ward and the Majority Leader in Nairobi County Assembly won the gubernatorial seat which he contested against former governor Godana Doyo and former chief executive officer for the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Halake Dida Wako.

Guyo garnered 28,926 votes against Doyo’s 26,270 and Wako’s 2,249 while Hussein Tene, John Machuguma and Kenneth Turibu polled 715, 299 and 318 votes respectively.

Isiolo County Assembly will have new members except one who survived from the 10 elective wards. Only Oldonyiro Ward rep David Lemantile managed to recapture his seat in the Election.

In the Senatorial race, the incumbent Fatuma Dullo polled 29,671 votes followed by Mohamed Nur, with 23,482, votes Roba Halake who was the County Assembly Speaker garnered 23,482 votes, Issa Abdi who was the Deputy Governor got 997 votes and Lokitela Agostino, 654 votes.

In the woman representative race to the National Assembly, the race attracted nine contestants including the former education Chief Administrative Secretary Mumina Bonaya who won after polling 23,994 votes followed by the incumbent woman MP Rehema Jaldesa who garnered 21,804 votes.

Milka Kawira polled 5,156 votes, former nominated MCA Sumeiya Bashir got 3,888 votes, another nominated MCA Mumina Konso got 645 votes.

Jubilee Party won Isiolo North and Isiolo South parliamentary seats where Mr. Joseph Samal and Mohamed Tupi representing the two constituencies that make Isiolo County.

Mr. Samal captured the seat he had lost to Hassan Odha in the 2017 general election. Mr Tupi is a former Speaker of the County Assembly.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *