Low voter turnout marks start of Mombasa governor election

Voting for the Mombasa governor kicked off on Monday morning with most polling stations recording low turnout.

A spot check by Kenya News Agency found a number of polling centres with a ‘walk in walk out voters’ situation and others completely empty.

Among the voting centres that recorded few voters by 10am were Patel Samaj, Tononoka Hall, Stadium, Mwembe Tayari and Tudor Village.

The election for the governorship post in Mombasa and Kakamega counties was suspended on August 8, 2022 a day before the general election by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) over ballot paper mix-up.

Also in the list are parliamentary elections for Kitui Rural, Kacheliba and Pokot South constituencies (both in West Pokot County) and Rongai Constituency in Nakuru County.

Voting for MCAS in Nyaki West ward (North Imenti Constituency in Meru County) and Kwa Njenga (Embakasi South in Nairobi County) had also been suspended.

Despite the government declaring Monday a public holiday in areas where the delayed elections would be held, most of the shops and other business outlets were open as residents continued with their normal chores.

A total of eight candidates are contesting for the Governor position in Mombasa to replace Hassan Joho who is retiring after serving two terms allowed under the constitution.

Those aspiring for the county’s top seat are immediate former Mvita Member of Parliament Abdulswamad Shariff Nassir (ODM), former Senator Hassan Omar Sarai (UDA) and the outgoing Mombasa Deputy Governor William Kingi (PAA).

Others are Daniel Munga Kitsao (Independent), Hezron Awiti (VDP), Said Abdalla (Usawa Kwa Wote), Shafii Makazi (UPIA) and Antony Chitavi (UDP).

Mombasa County has a total of 641,913 registered voters and 1,041 polling centers spread across six constituencies of Mvita, Likoni, Nyali, Kisauni, Changamwe and Jomvu and 30 electoral wards.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *