Mung’aro sacks five CEC members and all chief officers in mini changes

Kilifi Governor Gideon Mungaro Tuesday sacked five county executive committee members and assigned the remaining four additional roles pending substantive appointments.

Mr Mungaro, who took over from former governor Amason Jeffa Kingi, at the same time sent all chief officers packing and replaced them with their respective directors in acting capacities.

Addressing journalists at his Kilifi town office Tuesday evening, Mung’aro ordered the sacked CEC Members to proceed on terminal leave and the chief officers, whose contracts he said had expired, to hand over their offices to the directors by Friday this

The newly elected governor however extended the contract of the County Secretary and Head of the County Public Service, Mr Arnold Jeffa Mkare, for six months to facilitate a smooth transition as he settles to set up his own cabinet.

The five CEC members sent on terminal leave include Prof. Josphat Kazungu Mwatela (Roads, Public Works and Transport), Prof. Gabriel Katana Gona (Devolution, Public Service and Disaster Management) and Ms Nahida Mohamed (Tourism, Trade and Cooperative Development).

Others are Karisa Kiringi Mwachitu (Water, Environment and Natural Resources) and Dr Luciana Jumwa Sanzua (Agriculture, Livestock Development and Fisheries).

Mr Samuel Kombe Nzai, who served as the CEC Member for Finance and Economic Planning, resigned in February this year but lost the Magarini Parliamentary seat to Harrison Garama Kombe.

Chief Officers Kenneth Kazungu Tungule and Ben Kai resigned and contested for political positions; with Tungule being elected MP for Ganze constituency and Kai unsuccessfully contesting the Kilifi Senatorial seat.

Mr Mung’aro, who took over from Amason Kingi last Thursday, however retained Dr. Anisa Omar, the CEC Member for Gender, Social Services, Culture and Sorts and appointed her to hold brief in the departments of Water, Environment and Natural Resources, and Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries Development.

Mr Charles Karisa Dadu will continue serving as the CEC Member for Health Services and take charge of the department of Roads, Public Works and Transport as well as that of Trade Tourism and Cooperative Development in acting capacity.

Ms Rachel Mbula Musyoki, the CEC Member for Education and ICT, will hold brief in the Department of Devolution, Public Service and Disaster Management while Mrs. Maureen Mnyazi Mwangovya, the current CEC Member for Lands, Energy and Housing will also be in charge of the department of Finance and Economic Planning.

“It is my expectation and that of the great people of Kilifi County that these officers will undertake the assignments with utmost diligence and commitment,” Mung’aro said.

The governor said he had made the changes to ensure service delivery during the transition period even as he reorganizes and restructures his administration and await approval by the local county assembly, which is yet to be sworn in.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *