Only two women elected MPs in Murang’a

In Murang’a County, only two females were this time elected as Members of the National Assembly in the just concluded 2022 General elections.

This is a drop from three women legislators who were elected in 2017 general elections to represent Kigumo, Kandara and Maragua constituencies.

Those who were elected are Alice Wahome of Kandara and Mary Waithera Wamaua of Maragua.

Wahome floored 14 other candidates who were all male by garnering 39,009 votes against her closest competitors Chege Njuguna who got 19,206 and outgoing Murang’a deputy governor Kamau James Maina who got 3,188 votes.

On her part, Waithera retained her seat on an UDA ticket with a wide margin victory after garnering 49,281 votes against her closest competitor Anthony Chege (Jubilee) who got 12,633 votes.

Ruth Mwaniki of Kigumo Constituency who ran on a Jubilee ticket did not make it to be re-elected as she was defeated by Joseph Kamau Munyoro of UDA.

In the 2017 elections, Murang’a met the gender rule threshold because it had three females and four males as Members of Parliament. This time round, male have dominated the scene.

The five male MP-elect are Joseph Kamau Munyoro (Kigumo), Peter Kihungi (Kangema), Edwin Mugo (Mathioya), Edwin Muriu (Gatanga) and Ndindi Nyoro (Kiharu).

During the concluded elections, United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party managed to clinch all the MP seats.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *