IEBC clears 10 nominees to vie for Naivasha Parliamentary seat

Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has cleared 10 aspirants to vie for the Naivasha parliamentary seat in the coming General Elections.

Talking to KNA on Thursday, Naivasha Constituency IEBC Returning Officer (RO) Ms. Agnes Muriuki said six of the aspirants were cleared to vie for the Naivasha parliamentary seat on political party tickets.

Some of them include; Antony Rebo Ngure of ODM , Ndegwa Nguthiru of Jubilee and the incumbent; Ms. Jayne Kihara who will be defending her seat on United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party. The other three aspirants will vie on Narc-Kenya, Jibebe and National Vision political parties. Other four aspirant candidates were cleared to run as independent candidates.

Ms. Muriuki said one parliamentary aspirant failed to meet the requirements to be cleared and two others failed to turn on the clearance dates between May 29 and 31, 2022.

Each of the candidates expressed confidence of winning the seat and promised to carry out peaceful campaigns, free from any form of violence. They also commended IEBC officials for carrying out a seamless exercise when they presented themselves for clearance.

Those aspiring to be Members of the County assembly (MCAs) were cleared on diverse dates between June 1 and 7, 2022.

The R.O. said they cleared 67 aspirants to fight it out for the eight seats of MCA in Naivasha Constituency as independents and on various political parties out of the 70 who had applied.

The entire process was free from any serious challenges apart from occasional technical hitches.

Latest data from IEBC shows Naivasha Constituency has 145,049 registered voters and 95 polling stations, serving eight electoral wards.

IEBC has up to the end of this week to clear all contenders from presidential up to ward levels.

The country goes to polls on August 9 with over 20 million registered voters expected to elect their leaders within six levels which include, presidential, gubernatorial, senatorial, county woman representative, member of parliament and member of county assembly.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *