IEBC clears governor Ojaamong for Teso South parliamentary contest

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) yesterday cleared Busia Governor Sospeter Ojaamong to contest for the Teso South parliamentary seat in the August 9 General Elections.

Ojaamong who was accompanied by a host of supporters to the Amukura IEBC offices was cleared by Teso South IEBC Returning Officer Carol Okki giving him the green light to officially kick start his campaigns ahead of the August polls.

Addressing the press after clearance the governor who is contesting on an ODM ticket said the journey for economic liberation started after political liberation that gave birth to multi-party system.

He said, “our number one agenda is economic liberation of our people. We need to put our heads together by spearheading construction of industries to create jobs for unemployed youth.”

“The objective is not seeking for seats but economic liberation of the people. There are many issues to be handled at the National Assembly including taxes and funds,” he asserted.

“It is painful for the Government to borrow money every month. We need to use our vast experience to help the country overcome the current economic turn down,” he added.

Ojaamong who was the second to submit his nomination papers to the IEBC after Millicent Joan Ekasiba of Maendeleo Chap Chap party appealed to his opponents to carry out peaceful campaigns devoid of which-hunt and character assassination.

“I am hopeful the campaigns will be peaceful. Whoever will win in this contest should be supported by all the people in Teso South and should have a good agenda for the people in the constituency,” he appealed.

The second term governor is set to square it out with the incumbent Geoffrey Omuse who will defend his seat on an independent ticket and former MP Mary Emaase who will be vying on a UDA ticket. Emaase served as Teso South MP between 2013 and 2017.

Ojaamong was first elected in 2002 as Member of Parliament for Amagoro Constituency, which was later split into Teso North and South constituencies after successfully dethroning the then legislator Albert Ekirapa.

He was re-elected in 2007 before going for Busia gubernatorial seat in 2013 and successfully defending the seat in the 2017 general elections after he controversially trounced former Funyula MP Paul Otuoma.

Meanwhile in the neighboring Teso North constituency the IEBC through its returning officer Andrew Wetende has cleared a number of aspirants.

They include incumbent Oku Kaunya (ODM), Lawi Mamai (DAP-Kenya), Fred Papa (Wiper) and Samson Owino, John Imoite (UDA), Charles Aramaina and Cornelius Omuse who are both contesting on an independent party ticket.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *